International Study Group on the Relations Between
the HISTORY and PEDAGOGY of MATHEMATICS
An Affiliate of the International Commission on
Mathematical Instruction







 

Asian-Pacific HPM
2004
in Tai-Chung

 

Contact

HPM Chair

Luis Radford
 
École des sciences de l'éducation,
Université Laurentienne,
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

e-mail: lradford@laurentian.ca  
 

 HPM Newsletter co-editors 

Snezana Lawrence
Bath Spa University,
Bath, UK

e-mail: snezana@mathsisgoodforyou.com
           s.lawrence2@bathspa.ac.uk

 
Helder Pinto
Center for Research & Development in Mathematics and Applications (CIDMA)
Aveiro, Portugal
e-mail: hbmpinto1981@gmail.com
 

 
Kathy Clark
Florida State University,
Tallahassee, Florida 32306 4459,
USA

kclark@fsu.edu 

Luis Puig
Departamento de Didáctica de las Matemáticas,
Universitat de València Estudi General,
Spain

luis.puig@uv.es


HPM webmaster

Constantinos Tzanakis
Department of Education, University of Crete,
74100 Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
e-mail: tzanakis@edc.uoc.gr 

 

  HPM Newsletter distributors
 
Argentina
Juan E. Nápoles Valdés, Lamadrid 549, (3400) Corrientes, ARGENTINA
idic@ucp.edu.ar

Australia
G. FitzSimons, Faculty of Education, P.O.Box 6, Monash University, 3800
Victoria, AUSTRALIA
 
gail.fitzsimons@education.monash.edu.au
 

Austria
Manfred Kronfellner, Institut für Algebra,
Technische Universität Wien, Wiedner Haupstr. 8-10, A-1040 Wien, AUSTRIA
m.kronfellner@tuwien.ac.at

Belgium and The Netherlands
Sylvia Eerhart, Freudenthal Instituut, Aïdadreef 12, 3561 GE Utrecht, THE NETHERLANDS
S.Eerhart@fi.uu.nl

Canada
Thomas Archibald, Mathematics Department,
Acadia University, Wolfville, NS B0P1X0, CANADA  
Tom.Archibald@acadiau.ca

China
Ma Li, Linkoping University, ITN, SE
601 74 Norrkoping, SWEDEN
mali@itn.liu.se

Eastern Europe
This area is currently without a distributor due to the death of Dr. László Filep, on 19 November 2004 (see HPM Newsletter No 59, pp.2-3)

France
Evelyne Barbin, Centre François Viète,
Faculté des sciences et des techniques,
2 Chemin de la Houssinière, BP 92208, 44322
Nantes cedex, FRANCE evelyne.barbin@wanadoo.fr

Germany
Gert Schubring, Inst. f. Didaktik der Math.,
Universitaet Bielefeld, Postfach 100 131, D-33501, Bielefeld, GERMANY
gert.schubring@uni-bielefeld.de

Iran
Mohammad Bagheri, P.O.Box 13145-1785,
Tehran, IRAN
sut5@sina.sharif.edu

Israel
Ted Eisenberg, Mathematics Department, Ben
Gurion University of the Negev, Beer-Sheva 84105, ISRAEL
eisen@math.bgu.ac.il
eisenbt@barak-online.net

Italy
Giorgio T. Bagni and Marta Menghini, Dipartimento di Matematica (Universita` La Sapienza), Piazzale A. Moro 5, 00185 Roma ITALY
bagni@dimi.uniud.it
  marta.menghini@uniroma1.it

Malaysia
Mohamed Mohini, Department of Science and Mathematical Education, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, 81310 Johor, MALAYSIA
mohini@fp.utm.my

Mexico
Alejandro R Garciadiego,
Caravaggio 24, Col. Nonoalco Mixcoac Del. Benito Juárez 03700 México, D. F. MEXICO
gardan@servidor.unam.mx


Morocco
Abdellah El Idrissi, E.N.S. B.P: 2400 Marrakech, C.P: 40 000, MOROCCO a_elidrissi@hotmail.com

New Zealand
Bill Barton, Mathematics Education Unit,
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics University of Auckland, Private Bag 92-019, Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
b.barton@auckland.ac.nz

Other East Asia
Gloria Benigno, Department of Education,
Culture and Sports, Region X, Division of Misamis Occidental, Oroquieta City, PHILLIPINES
glorya4444@yahoo.com

Scandinavia
Sten Kaijser, Department of Mathematics,
P.O. Box 480, SE- 751 06 Uppsala, SWEDEN sten@math.uu.se

South America
Marcos Vieira Teixeira , Departamento de
Matemática , IGCE - UNESP, Postal 178 13 500 - 230 Rio Claro, SP BRAZIL
marti@rc.unesp.br

South Asia
Prof. R. C. Gupta, Ganita Bharati Academy,
R-20, Ras Bahar Colony, Jhansi-284003, U.P. INDIA

South East Europe
Nikos Kastanis, Department of Mathematics,
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki 54006, GREECE
nioka@auth.gr

Southern Africa
Paulus Gerdes, Mozambican Ethnomaths Research Centre, C.P. 915, Maputo, MOZAMBIQUE  pgerdes@virconn.com

Spain and Portugal
Carlos Correia de Sá, Departamento de
Matemática Pura, Faculdade de Ciência da Universidade do Porto, Praça Gomes Teixeira 4099-002 Porto, PORTUGAL
csa@fc.up.pt

Taiwan
Wann-sheng Horng, Math dept NTNU, 88
Sec.4, Tingchou Rd., Taipei, TAIWAN horng@math.ntnu.edu.tw

Turkey
Mustafa Alpaslan, ODTU Egitim Fakultesi EF-A37 06800, Cankaya/Ankara TURKEY
amustafa@metu.edu.tr
 

United Kingdom
Snezana Lawrence, Bath Spa University, Bath, UNITED KINGDOM
snezana@mathsisgoodforyou.com

United States of America
David L. Roberts; Prince George s Community College, Largo, Maryland, USA
robertsdl@aol.com 

TopÈ

 

Links

International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI)

America's Chapter of the History and Pedagogy of Mathematics

African Mathematical Union Commission on the History of Mathematics in Africa (AMUCHMA)

Instituts de Recherche sur l'Enseignement des Mathematiques (IREM)

British Society for the History of Mathematics (BSHM)

David Joyce's History of Mathematics Home Page

Euclid's Elements by David E. Joyce

The Italian Society of History of Mathematics (SISM)

The Math Forum Internet Resource Collection

 International Study Group on Ethnomathematics

Japanese Temple Geometry Problem by Hiroshi Kotera

Societad Brasileira de Historia da Matematica (SBHMat)

St Andrews MacTutor History of Mathematics

The International Group for the Psychology of Mathematics Education (PME)

Laboratorio di Macchine Matematiche